Post Background

FAQs

HomeSafe Driving School

Are the training vehicles available for the DMV test?

  • Yes! We have a DMV Package with the use of our vehicle. We schedule that appointment on Instructor availability and allow 2.5 hours for an appointment. You are able to use our car. Please contact HomeSafe for more information before you book your DMV Test.

Can the parent or an adult ride along with the student while doing the Behind-the-Wheel Lesson?

  • Yes, a parent or guardian is always welcome to join us for the lesson.

Do you have Online Driver Education?

Do you teach adult drivers?

  • Yes, we love to work with students of all ages, however it is a great honor to work with adult students who have never driven, or for one reason or another, need a brush-up.  As we have privilege of working with Rancho Los Amigos National Rehabilitation Center's driving program, we have a variety of resources we can access to help any age student become safer.   

Do you have classroom Drivers Education?

  • Yes, click here to see our current classroom schedule

Is your Drivers Education class or Drivers Training a Pass or Fail?

  • This is a completion course only. We do give honest feedback regarding how we think you are doing and if we feel safe with your or not. This is to help you make good decisions regarding what to do next. We never guarantee if you will pass or fail your test, simply our professional opinion regarding your safe driving habits.

What do I need to bring with me to Drivers Ed class?

  • Yourself, a pen and notebook will be helpful, and we supply everything else you need. You will want to plan for a lunch when we take our break.

What do I need to take with me to the DMV when I take my BTW driving test?

There are 5 items that you will take to the DMV for your Behind-the-Wheel driver license test:
  • Gold completion certificate you received from HomeSafe Driving School when you finished your Behind the Wheel (BTW) training (you only need this if you are under 18 years old).
  • Signed learner’s permit. For minors: The two signatures required are from when you took your first lesson, and from your parent or guardian attesting that you have practiced and are now ready to drive safely.
  • Proof of insurance - This must be current
  • Registration of the vehicle - This must be current
  • Driver license of adult passenger

What if I obtained a permit from another state?

  • NOTE: If your driver education and driver training were taken in a state other than California, DMV will accept either a
  • "To Secondary Schools Other Than California Schools" form (DL 33) form completed by the out-of state secondary school. Obtain a DL 33 form from your local DMV office or by calling DMV at 1-800-777-0133. Send the DL 33 form to your out-of-state secondary school to complete.  
  • Letter from your out-of state secondary school on the out-of-state secondary school's stationery signed by a school official stating that the courses you have taken are equivalent to a California secondary school course described in Section 10020 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations.
  • An out-of-state driving instructional permit is not acceptable proof of driver education and driver training.

What happens after I receive my learner’s permit?

  • Once you have received your learner’s permit, you need to schedule your 1st Behind-the-Wheel Training appointment with a DMV Certified Driving Instructor. California law requires 6-hours of professional training, and 50-hours of practice with your parents or adult guardian(s), including 10 hours at night. This is the minimum. In actuality, students need to drive as many hours as possible. Students will be increasing more successful - safe, the more experience they can obtain.
  • When you have completed all of the above, you may make an appointment to take the behind-the-wheel driver license test.

What is the process to get my license?

  • Once you have received your learner’s permit, you need to schedule your 1st Behind-the-Wheel Training appointment with a DMV Certified Driving Instructor. California law requires 6-hours of professional training, and 50-hours of practice with your parents or adult guardian(s), including 10 hours at night. This is the minimum. In actuality, students need to drive as many hours as possible. Students will be increasing more successful - safe, the more experience they can obtain.
    When you have completed all of the above, you may make an appointment to take the final driver license test.

Who can take classes or lessons?

  • Our courses are available to anyone. Driver Education: Online or Classroom. Behind the Wheel: 6 hour package - 30 hour package. Call for more information. 949-793-0311.

Is there more information that can help us make a good decision when choosing a good driving school?

Slider Background

How can we help?

HomeSafe Driving School
188 E. 17th St. 
Costa Mesa CA, 92627
Phone: (949) 793-0311
HomeSafe Driving School - Orange
Orange, CA 92865
Phone: (714) 769-6965
HomeSafe Driving School at OCC
 
 

HomeSafe Driving School at GWC
15744 Goldenwest St .
Huntington Beach, CA, 92647
Phone: (714) 475-1920

© 2015 HomeSafe Driving School. All Rights Reserved.